Shrestha wins chess tourney

Kathmandu, July 4:

Keshav Shrestha won the Madan Memorial National Open Chess Championship, organised by central sports department of the Democratic National Youth Federation, here on Wednesday.

Along with Keshav three others — Surbir Lama, Uttam Raj Thapa and Bilam Lal Shrestha — were tied on eight points, but Keshav won on better progressive points. Keshav drew with Uttam Raj in the final ninth round of the tournament played under the Swiss League system. Keshav earned 48.5 progressive points ahead of Surbir (44.5), Uttam Raj (43.5) and Bilam Lal (40).

Badri Lal Nepali, Prem Krishna Maharjan, Niraj Niraula and Mahesh Thapa finished fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth respectively despite having equal 7.5 points. Badri Lal earned 43 progressive points while Prem Krishna, Niraj and Mahesh got 42, 41.5 and 39.5 respectively. Manish Hamal was ninth with 44.5 progressive points while Rajan Chettri and Prachanda Malakar finished joint 10th with even 43 points.

The top five players was awarded with cash prizes of Rs 22,222, Rs 17,477, Rs 13,333, Rs 11,111 and Rs 9,999 respectively.