KATHMANDU:Six golfers were selected for the Signature Club Golf Championship 2009 after the Intra-Gokarna Forest Golf Club Tournament here today.

The six-member Gokarna Golf Club golfers — Tashi Tsering, Tashi Ghale, Phintso Ongdi Lama, Robindra Raj Pandey, Tashi Sherpa and Jeong Chul Pyo — will represent Nepal in the Eastern Region final which will be joined by eight other teams of India selected from Digboi, Bhubaneshwor and Guwahati clubs. The Eastern Region final will be held at the Royal Calcutta Golf Club (RNGC) on December 8.

The Eastern Region champion team will join the champion teams from Southern, Western and Northern Regions of India in the all-India final of the Signature Club Golf Championship 2009 at the Blue Canyon Golf Club in Phuket, Thailand on December 18. Gokarna Club made the selection under three handicap categories — 0-8, 9-16 and 17-24 — with top two golfers from each of the sections qualifying for the Eastern Region final. Tashi Tsering won the 0-8 handicap category with 18 stableford gross points. Tashi Ghale (14pts) secured the other berth from the category with the second place finish.

Phintso Ongdi Lama claimed the 9-16 handicap category with 23 nett stableford points, one point better than runner up RR Pandey. Likewise, Tashi Sherpa won the 17-24 handicap category with 26 points. Jeong Chul Pyo ended up second in the category with 25 points.

Eu Hazur clinched the ladies’ title on a countback after tying on 17 points with Mrs Yoo. Other winners include Tashi Sherpa (Bold Power Player points),

Kim Dong Wan (Beautiful Drive) and Robin Rana (Longest Drive). Deepak Rajbhandari won a lucky draw prize for three-night stay to Kuala Lumpur.