Suraksha enter final

BHAKTAPUR: Suraksha Cricket Club and Tip Top-XI advanced to the final of the Khukuri Challenger T20 Cup at the Sainik Awasiya Mahavidhyalaya grounds on Sunday.

In the semi-final matches, Suraksha recorded a 19-run victory over Royal PC Fighter, while Tip Top thrashed Baluwatar Cricket Club by seven wickets.

In the 18-over-a-side match, Suraksha scored 161-3. Sunil Dhamala scored a quick fire 60-ball 89 not out hitting nine boundaries and three sixes. Aarif Sheikh remained not out on nine-ball 24 that included two each fours and sixes. In reply, Royal PC reached 142-7 despite Sandip Jora hitting 50 off 29 balls with the help of three boundaries and four sixes. Prem Tamang bagged three wickets for Suraksha. In another match, Baluwatar were bowled out for 115 in 19.2 overs with Rohit Poudel (25 off 13) being the top scorer. Poudel hit six boundaries. Sonu Tamang claimed three wickets for Tip Top, who raced to the victory in 12.5 overs losing three wickets. Prakash Bista scored 11-ball 32 and Aashu Kandoi remained unbeaten on 30 off 32 balls. Bista cracked three boundaries and two sixes, while Kandoi’s innings included five fours.