TAC, APF win

Birtamod: Tribhuvan Army Club and Nepal APF Club won the team became championships of the Open Boxing Tournament under the NSC Championship here today.

TAC won the men’s category trophy with eight gold and one each silver and bronze medals, while Jhapa came second with one each gold, silver and bronze medals. Nepal Police Club claimed one gold and four bronze medals to finish third.

In women’s category, APF bagged three gold, four silver and a bronze to finish on top, while TAC came second with three gold, two silver and three bronze medals. NPC finished third with one gold and two bronze medals. TAC’s Prem Chaudhary and Bimala Shrestha were named the best players in men and women categories respectively.

In the day’s final matches, TAC’s Lalita Maharajan defeated APF’s Nangja Budha Magar in the 48kg event, while APF’s Mala Rai claimed 51kg event gold medal beating TAC’s Gita Kumari Thapa.

In 54kg, TAC’s Bimala Shrestha saw off Nita Gosai of Bhaktapur and won gold medal, while Naxal’s Kushum Tamang beat APF’s Sanju Lama in the 57kg final. APF’s Sangita Sunar defeated Mandira Putuwar of Kathmandu in the 60kg final.

Similarly, TAC’s Punam Rawal defeated APF’s Binita Thapa Magar in the 64kg final, while NPC’s Anuradha Lama saw off Manita Rai of APF in 69kg final and APF’s Saraswoti Rana won the 75kg event gold beating TAC’s Sabina Shrestha.

In men’s section, TAC boxers Taj Bahadur Deuba won the 49kg event gold, Prem Chaudhary came first in 52kg section, Bimal Rokka claimed gold in 56kg, Ek Bahadur Ghale won 60kg event, Bishnu Ghale was the winner in 69kg, Dipesh Lama claimed gold in 75kg, Shyam Khadka won 91kg final and Ashish Duwadi bagged the above-91kg gold medal.

Similarly, NPC’s Bhupendra Thapa Magar claimed gold medal in 64kg and Manohar Basnet of Jhapa beat Saujan Thapa of Lalitpur to win the 81kg final match.