Tribhuvan Army Club won the team championship of the Bir Ganeshman Singh Memorial fourth National Open Kickboxing Tournament here at the local Pyangaon grounds in Chapagaon today.

Out of the 12 gold medals in offer, TAC claimed six each gold and bronze medals and three silvers to finish first in the threeday tournament.

Nepal APF Club came second with five gold medals, while Rage Fitness finished third with one each gold and bronze medals.

Top three teams received Rs 100,000, Rs 50,000 and Rs 25,000 respectively.

Roshan Achhami of APF and Teji Gurung of Rage were declared the best players and they earned Rs 25,000 each.

In the finals played on final day of the event, TAC players Dal Bahadur Ghale (75kg), Sunny Sunar (70kg) and Rajesh Chaudhary (65kg) won men's section gold medals, while Manju BK (65kg), Bindu Pun Magar (open weight category) and Manisha Pradhan bagged golds for the Nepali Army's departmental side in women's section.

Likewise, the 13th South Asian Games gold medallist wushuka Mangal Prasad Tharu claimed 60kg weight category gold medal for APF, while his teammates Sanjeev Maharjan (open weight category). Tirtha Raj Thapa and Nisha BK (women's 60kg) bagged finished first in their respective weight categories.

Teji Gurung of Rage was the lone fighter outside departmental teams to win gold medal in the tournament.

Top three players in both sections received Rs 30,000, Rs 15,000 and Rs 8,000 respectively.

More than 200 players took part in the tournament that features 12 weight categories.

Former Minister Purna Bahadur Khadka handed over the prizes to the winners of the tournament organised jointly by Nepali Congress Central Sports Department and Lalitpur District Kickboxing Association.

A version of this article appears in the print on April 11, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.