Tribhuvan Army Club athlete Tirtha Tamang won the title of the second Rishing Ultra Marathon here on Tuesday.

Tamang completed the 43km distance from Dharung Bhanjyang to Dubungkot View Tower in two hours, 51 minutes and 25 seconds to finish first. Another TAC athlete Devraj Mahatara came second in 2:54:25, while Suman Kulung of Solukhumbu was third in 3:05:46.

Top three athletes received Rs 65,000, Rs 40,000 and Rs 25,000 respectively.

TAC's Rajan Meyongbo and Pratap Khadka and Bhojpur's Umesh Rai got Rs 10,000 each as consolation priz e for finishing fourth to sixth respectively.

Likewise, Padam Bahadur Ale, Sriram Sigdel, Samundra Ale and Tirtha Bahadur Rana claimed top four positions respectively in 10km race, while Sita Ranabhat won the women's 4km race finishing ahead of Yamuna Thapa, Susmita Ranabhat and Bishnu Pariyar.

A total of 102 athletes, including 49 in ultra race, took part in the event. Senior leader of Nepali Congress Ram Chandra Poudel handed over the prizes to the winners.

A version of this article appears in the print on January 12, 2022, of The Himalayan Times.