Jie Tang claimed the title of the Surya Nepal Gokarna Monthly Medal here at the Gokarna Golf Club today.

The 19-handicap Chinese golfer scored six-under 66 to register four-stroke victory over Suryansh Chaudhary, who was tied on two-under 70 with SSP Rajendra Shrestha and Phintso Ongdi Lama.

As Shrestha chose to take gross section award, Chaudhary received nett category runner-up prize on count back. Eight-handicap golfer Chaudhary carded three-over 39 on either half, while 10-handicapper Lama added eight-over 44 after taking the turn at even-par to take the second runner-up trophy.

In gross section, Shrestha won the trophy on count back after he was tied on six-over 78 with Chaudhary. Shrestha scored two-over 38 on back nine, while Chaudhary had three-over 39. Mayank Dahal won the junior section award.

A total of 44 players participated in the fourth edition of the tournament, organised by Gokarna Golf Club under the sponsorship of Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd. Captain of Gokarna Golf Club Joseph Nathan handed over the prizes to the winners of the event played under stroke play format.

Jabbor Kayumov leads the nett section table with 116 points, while Sanjay Poudel and Tang are tied for second at 112. Brian Fawcett (110) and Pavitra Karki (70) are in top five. In Gross section, Tendi Sherpa is at the top of the standings with 190 points, while Fawcett, Vijay Einhaus and SSP Shrestha are joint second with 100 each. Kayumov (70) is at the fifth position.

Likewise, Dahal joined Sam Doublard at the top of the Junior section table with 160 points, while Aditi Ghimire (140) is third ahead of Arnav Shah (60) and Tanistha Dhyani (40). A total of 10 medal rounds will be played until December. Top 30 in nett, 10 in gross and five in junior categories will qualify for the Club Championships, which will be held over two rounds in January and February next year.