Kathmandu, January 26 Dhurba Thapa emerged as victorious in the first of the two-leg finals of the Surya Nepal Gokarna Monthly Medal here at the Gokarna Golf Club today. Thapa carded five-under 67 to win the nett category trophy, while Dr Bhagwan Koirala came second with four-under 68. Ang Dendi Sherpa was the second runner-up with the score of two-under 70. Likewise, Surendra Phuyal won the gross section trophy after Thapa chose the nett category award due to one-player-one-trophy rule. Thapa had submitted the card of four-over 76, while Phuyal played a round of six-over 78. Ang Phurba Sherpa won the junior section trophy with the score of even-par 72. In all, 24 golfers — who qualified for the Club Championship finals after the 10 Monthly Medal rounds — took part in the tournament organised by Gokarna Golf Club under the sponsorship of Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd. Senior Golf Director of Gokarna Forest Resort Deepak Acharya handed over the prizes to the winners of the tournament. With one more round remaining, Surendra Phuyal is at the top of the both nett and gross section standings. He leads the nett section with 415 points, while Dhurba Thapa moved to second with 315 points. Devendra Bajgai is third with 275, followed by Ang Dendi Sherpa (260) and Dr Bhagwan Koirala (180). In gross section, Phuyal is on top with 670 points, while Tashi Tshiring is second with 600 points. Wangchen Dhondup is third with 330 points, while Dhurba Thapa is fourth with 320 points and Tashi Dong fifth with 205 points. In junior section, Ang Phurba Sherpa leads the table with 615 points, while Arnav Shah is second with 515 points and Sam Doublard is third with 450 points. The second and final leg of the finals is scheduled for February 9.