Tigers roar past Lions

Kathmandu, October 13:

Kathmandu Tigers defeated Nepal Lions by 55 runs in a match between the teams that have already qualified for Monday’s final of the Bajaj Pulsar Twenty20 Super Cricket Tournament at TU Stadium today.

Batting first after winning the toss, Kathmandu Tigers scored 133-7 riding on Dipendra Chaudhary’s half century. Chaudhary hit five boundaries and two sixes in his 56-ball 62. Skipper Paras Khadka contributed 28 off 25 balls including two fours and a six, while Basanta Regmi made 14-ball 17 hitting a four and a six.

Dhirendra Chand took 2-16 whereas skipper Binod Das and Rahul BK pocketed one wicket each for the Lions. In reply, the Lions failed to build partnerships and lost momentum after openers Paresh Lohani and Mehboob Alam were out cheaply. They were all out for 78 in 18.3 overs. Sunam Gautam top-scored with 20 off 21 balls, while Sharad Vesawkar contributed 15 from 11 balls. Dipendra Chaudhary was adjudged the man of the match.

In another match, which was reduced to 18 overs due to the rain, Shangri-La Sharks beat Corporate Giants by 12 runs. Batting first, the Sharks were bowled out for 126 runs and restricted the Giants to 114.

Manoj Sood scored 54 off 41 balls hitting three fours and three sixes for the Sharks. Giants skipper Ankit Kocher took 2-24. Sanjay Shrestha scored 34-ball 39 and Manish Shrestha made 37 for the Giants. Man of the match Sood took 2-19 for the Sharks.