Time Out

Madhyapur claim title

BHAKTAPUR: Madhyapur Thimi Municipality won the Bhaktapur Districtwide Volleyball Tournament defeating hosts Guheswori Battalion of the Armed Police Force (APF) in final on Sunday. Held at the hosts court in Duwakot, Madhyapur laboured to a 19-25, 25-20, 25-19, 19-25, 18-16 victory. Raj Bahadur Chaudhary of the hosts team was adjudged the best player while Mulpani VDC were declared the Fair Play team in the tournament organised to mark the ninth anniversary of APF. — HNS

Sampdoria keep pace

ROME: Inter Milan maintained their two point lead over Sampdoria at the Serie A summit as the top two both won on Saturday. Inter eased to a 2-1 victory to Catania while Antonio Cassano inspired Sampdoria to a 4-1 thumping of Bologna. It means Inter lead with 22 points after nine matches with Sampdoria opening up a five-point gap between them and the rest. Inter were anything but spectacular against the Sicilians but their superiority was clear to see as they put the game to bed by half-time. — AFP

Rossi captures title

SEPANG: Defending world champion Valentino Rossi claimed his seventh MotoGP title in a thrilling race at the Malaysian Moto GP on Sunday. Australian Casey Stoner won the race but the Italian secured the title by coming in third on his Yamaha. Spain's Dani Pedrosa was second. Rossi said he was delighted to seal the championship title with one race to go, in Valencia on November 8. Rossi paid special tribute to his Yamaha team-mate Jorge Lorenzo. The 22-year-old Spaniard finished the race fourth but had been the only rider still in contention for the world title. — AFP

Kigen sets record

NAIROBI: Kenya's Moses Kigen on Sunday won the Nairobi international marathon men's race in a new course record of two minutes 10.12 seconds for his second victory over the distance this year. Kigen broke away from the three-man lead pack after 35km to cruise to victory ahead of Nathan Naibei and Peter Kiplagat Sitienei. His winning time was 18 seconds faster than the previous best set by Samson Tuiyange in 2008. In the women's race, Irene Jerotich became the first runner to win twice since the event was inaugurated in 2003. — AFP