Time Out

Six-a-side football

KATHMANDU: HKNS of Vanasthali, Annapurna FC, Youth Forum of Panga and Bull Boys Club of Naya Bazaar entered the pre-quarters at the third Sujan Memorial Six-a-side Football Tournament, organised by Samaj Kalyan Sports Centre, here on

Friday. HKNS defeated Red Devils 3-1 in tie breaker. Raju Ale, Sunil Magar and Liza Dangol scored for the winners, while Mahendra Lama was

the only to convert the spot kick

for Red Devils. In other matches,

Annapurna hammered Church Boys 4-0; Youth Forum thrashed Guheshwori 6-1; Bull Boys beat Balambu Sports Club 2-1. — HNS

Refs get AKF License

KATHMANDU: Nepali karate referees Raju Maharjan and Bishan Mote, both from Jhapa, have acquired the Asian Karate Federation (AKF) Referee License. The referees are now qualified to officiate Asian level tournaments. The duo passed the exams they appeared during the ninth AKF Senior Karate Championship and Referee Seminar in Guangzhou, china last month. — HNS

Golf, rugby added

COPENHAGEN: Golf and rugby have been approved as Olympic sports. The International Olympic Committee voted on Friday to include both sports on the programme for the 2016 and 2020 Summer Games. Each sport received majority support in separate votes after presentations by leading athletes and officials. Rugby will organise a seven-a-side tournament for 12 men’s and women’s teams. Golf will stage a 72-hole strokeplay tournament for men and women. The vote brings the number of summer Olympic sports back to 28. — AP

Rogge re-elected

Copenhagen: The International Olympic Committee (IOC) on Friday re-elected Belgian Jacques Rogge as president for a new four-year term with 88 votes in favour, one against and three abstentions. Rogge, 67, was first elected for eight years in 2001 and will now be in place through the 2012 London Olympics before stepping down a year later. The IOC also elected two vice-presidents — Italy’s Mario Pescante and Singapore’s Ser Miang Ng. Briton Craig Reedie and Australian John Coates were also elected to the IOC executive committee, which comprises 10 members including four vice-presidents and Rogge himself. — AFP