time out

Saraswoti triumph

KATHMANDU: Saraswoti Youth Club rallied for a 2-1 win over Gyan Bhairav Club in the inaugural match of the Martyrs Memorial ‘B’ Division League, organised by Nepal Football Association, here at the Dasharath Stadium on Saturday. Raj Poudel put Gyan Bhairav ahead in the 18th minute but Rupendra Shrestha drew level in the 65th before Yogesh Gurung scored the winner three minutes later. In all, nine teams are taking part in the tournament. — HNS

OCA meeting in Nepal

KATHMANDU: Nepal Olympic Committee is hosting the OS/OCA Regional Forum meeting here from February 15-18. The representatives from International Olympic Committee (IOC), Olympic Council of Asia (OCA) and national olympic committees in South Asia will take part in the forum, said the NOC in a release on Saturday. The representatives of first Asian Martial Arts Games (Bangkok 2009), first Asian Youth Games (Singapore 2009), first Olympic Youth Games (Singapore 2010), third Asian Indoor Games (Vietnam 2009), and 16th Asian Games (Guangzhou 2010) are also scheduled to put forth their presentation. The NOC has formed a five-member committee under Umesh Lal Shrestha. — HNS

Unique beat Mt Glory

KATHMANDU: Hosts Unique School registered a thumping 50-28 victory over Mt Glory in the junior boys’

section match at the opening day of the fourth Unique Inter-school Basketball Tournament. In other junior boys’ matches, Young Heart hammered VS Niketan 63-3, Lyceum beat Sewa Sadan 27-8, NOMS defeated Cambridge 33-16, Elite Co-Ed thrashed Reliance 34-4 and New Shrine overcame AIA 38-10. In the Girls’ section, Lyceum beat Cambridge 24-10 while hosts Unique got a walkover win from Ulliens. — HNS

Bal Krishna, Lakpa win

KATHMANDU: Bal Krishna won the Valleywide Inter-school 5-km Boys Running Competition, organised by Blue Wren Boarding School, on Saturday. Bal Krishna finished the race in 20 minutes, 20 seconds, ahead of Norbu Gaytsen and Dawa Sangpo. Lakpa Pun of Gyanodaya Bal Batika won the girls’ section race in 26.01 minutes. — HNS