TAC win taekwondo C’ship

Lalitpur, December 17

Tribhuvan Army Club won the team championship of the eighth Korean Ambassador Open National Taekwondo Tournament here at the Nepal Taekwondo Academy today.

TAC claimed nine gold, four silver and 12 bronze medals — five gold, two silver and six bronze in men’s category and four gold, two silver and six bronze in women’s section. Similarly, Nepal Police Club finished second. They bagged three gold and a silver in men as well as three gold, a silver and two bronze medals in women’s section. Nepal APF Club won a gold and three each silver and bronze medals in men’s section, while Koteshwor claimed two silver medal to became third in women’s category.

In junior category, TAC won three gold and two silver in women’s event, while United Taekwondo claimed one each gold and silver, while Siksha Abhiyan claimed one each gold and bronze. In men’s category, Koteshwor took three gold and a silver, Sitapaila Taekwondo won two each gold, silver and bronze, while Lalitpur won one each gold and bronze.

National Sports Council Vice-president Lama Tendi Sherpa, Nepal Taekwondo Association Vice-presidents Bhoj

Bahadur Shah and Nandu Rai among others handed over the prizes to the winners. Nepal Taekwondo Association and South Korean Embassy in Nepal jointly organised the event.