WT20: New Zealand beat Bangladesh for 4th straight win

KOLKATA: New Zealand kept their unbeaten record intact at the World Twenty20 when they thumped Bangladesh by 75 runs in their last Group 2 match on a tricky wicket Saturday.

Bangladesh were dismissed for 70 in 15.4 overs after fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman had grabbed 5-22 but still couldn't stop New Zealand from scoring a competitive 145-8.

New Zealand's fourth successive victory was halted for 11 minutes when one of the light towers at Eden Gardens went off with Bangladesh at 45-6 in 11 overs before Grant Elliott (3-12) and Ish Sodhi (3-21) finished off the match.

New Zealand topped their group with eight points after earlier beating hosts India, Australia and Pakistan. Bangladesh lost all their group matches that included a last-ball, 1-run loss against India.

Scoreboard from the Group 2 match between New Zealand and Bangladesh in World Twenty20 at Eden Gardens on Saturday:

New Zealand

Henry Nicholls b Mustafizur Rahman 7

Kane Williamson b Mustafizur Rahman 42

Colin Munro b Hossain 35

Ross Taylor c Mithun b Hossain 28

Corey Anderson b Mashrafe Murtaza 0

Grant Elliott c Hom b Mustafizur Rahman 9

Luke Ronchi not out 9

Mitchell Santner b Mustafizur Rahman 3

Nathan McCullum b Mustafizur Rahman 0

Mitchell McClenaghan not out 6

Extras: (4b, 1lb, 1w) 6

TOTAL: (for 8 wickets) 145

Overs: 20.

Fall of wickets: 1-25, 2-57, 3-99, 4-100, 5-125, 6-127, 7-139, 8-139

Did not bat: Ish Sodhi.

Bowling: Mashrafe Mortaza 3-0-21-1, Shuvagata Hom 3-0-16-0, Shakib Al Hasan 4-0-33-0, Mustafizur Rahman 4-0-22-5, Al-Amin Hossain 4-0-27-2 (1w), Mahmudullah 2-0-21-0.


Tamim Iqbal run out 3

Mohammad Mithun b McClenaghan 11

Sabbir Rahman c Santner b McCullum 12

Shakib Al Hasan c McCullum b Santner 2

Soumya Sarkar st Ronchi b Sodhi 6

Mahmudullah b Sodhi 5

Mushfiqur Rahim b Elliott 0

Shuvagata Hom not out 16

Mashrafe Mortaza lbw b Elliott 3

Mustafizur Rahman c Ronchi b Elliott 6

Al-Amin Hossain b Sodhi 0

Extras: (5lb, 1w) 6

TOTAL: (all out) 70

Overs: 15.4.

Fall of wickets: 1-4, 2-29, 3-31, 4-34, 5-43, 6-44, 7-48, 8-59, 9-65, 10-70

Bowling: Nathan McCullum 2-0-6-1 (1w), Corey Anderson 2-0-7-0, Mitchell Santner 3-0-16-1, Mitchell McClenaghan 1-0-3-1, Grant Elliott 4-0-12-3, Ish Sodhi 3.4-0-21-3.

Result: New Zealand won by 75 runs.

Toss: New Zealand.

Umpires: Johan Cloete, South Africa, and Michael Gough, England.

TV Umpire: Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Sri Lanka. Match Referee: Andy Pycroft, Zimbabwe.