Kathmandu, January 7:

The forward line in football holds a crucial role because the result of a match largely depends on them.

No matter how good the midfielders, defenders or goalkeeper in a team is, if the strikers fail to score a team can at best draw the match.

It all depends on the strikers to win or lose a match.

Like the previous two years, Yamaha Motors India will award a G-5 motorcycle to a best forward of the currently underway Martyrs Memorial ‘A’ Division League.

MMC’s Basanta Thapa won the Yamaha G5 last year while Three Star’s Surendra Tamang claimed the best striker’s award before him.

Generally people are fond of strikers because of the nature of football where the game revolves around goal. This time several new players have emerged as the potential winner in

this category.

Bikarna Shrestha of Army leads the goal-scorers list with 16 goals. Anil Gurung of Manang Marsyangdi Club is second with 13 goals to his credit.

Chakra Tamang of the Army club, Ju Manu Rai of Mahendra Police Club, Raj Kumar Ghising of MMC, Santosh Sahukhala of APF and Nilendra Dewan of Friends are few of the competitors to win the award of the best forward this year.