Banks start issuing new banknotes for Dashain festival

Kathmandu, September 27

The Nepal Rastra Bank (NRB) has started circulating new banknotes in the market for Dashain from today.

Laxmi Prapanna Niraula, spokesperson for NRB, informed that the general public can avail new banknotes from different banks across Kathmandu Valley and the office of the central bank. However, only NRB offices will issue new currencies in districts beyond Kathmandu Valley, as per NRB.

Customers can exchange new currencies of five rupees, Rs 10, Rs 20, Rs 50 and Rs 100. Along with NRB offices in the Valley, public can get the new banknotes from the branches of Nepal Bank, Rastriya Banijya Bank and Agricultural Development Bank.

As per NRB, seven branches of Nepal Bank in the Valley — in New Road, Kritipur, Maharajgunj, Jorpati, Patan, Lazimpat and Bhaktapur — will offer exchange facility of new banknotes to the public.

Similarly, people can avail the facility from Rastriya Banijya Bank’s offices in Singha Durbar, Teku, New Baneshwor, Bishal Bazaar, Sano Thimi, Lubhu, Naxal, Balaju and Tokha.

In case of the Agricultural Development Bank, the public can exchange new banknotes from its offices located at Gaushala, Gatthaghar, Ram Shah Path, Ratna Park, Thankot and Pulchowk.

Meanwhile, NRB has also circulated new banknotes to other commercial banks, as per Niraula.

As in the previous years, a person can exchange two bundles of five rupees, Rs 10, Rs 20 and Rs 50 and one bundle of Rs 100, totalling Rs 27,000.

Meanwhile, NRB has also urged the public not to deface the banknotes. “Public should use the new banknotes wisely. NRB will gradually stop issuing new banknotes during Dashain,” said Niraula.

Niraula also informed that people defacing the banknotes can face up to three years of jail term.

People can avail the new banknotes exchange facility from the banks till October 4.