Govt transfers 28 joint secretaries, including former DoTM DG Bhattarai

Kathmandu, May 24 

The government has transferred 28 joint secretaries today, including Rupnarayan Bhattarai, the former director general of Department of Transport Management (DoTM).

Bhattarai, who was transferred to the Ministry of Physical Infrastructure and Transport (MoPIT) a few days ago on charge of not being supportive to the MoPIT, has now been assigned to the Ministry of Labour, Employment and Social Security (MoLESS).

Bhattarai, who had played an important role to reform the country's public transportation industry, was transferred to MoPIT on May 19.

Despite public pressure, Minister for Physical Infrastructure and Transport, Raghubir Mahaseth had transferred Bhattarai to MoPIT.

Following his transfer to MoLESS, Bhattarai said he will not tolerate anomalies and illegal practices in any sector irrespective of the agency he has been given the responsibility of.

Along with Bhattarai, the government has also transferred 27 other joint secretaries, including Gopi Krishna Khanal, Shankar Aryal and Janaki Ballav Adhikari of the Ministry of Industry, Commerce and Supplies; Tulsi Prasad Gautam of National Planning Commission; Dinesh Bhattarai of the Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, among others to various other government agencies.