House panel asks govt to expand telecom service

Kathmandu, July 21

The Finance Committee of the Legislature-Parliament has urged the government to expand telecommunication services to the 15 rural municipalities of the country that are still not connected with telephone and internet services till date.

The House panel has urged the Ministry of Information and Communications (MoIC) to expand basic telephone services in those areas.

According to Nepal Telecommunications Authority (NTA), 15 rural municipalities located in six districts of the country are yet to be connected with telephone service. Byas, Api Himal and Duhu rural municipalities of Darchula district, Himali, Swamikartik, Gaunmul and Triveni rural municipalities of Bajura district and Khaptadchhanna rural municipality of Bajhang district are not connected with telephone and internet facilities.

Likewise, Patarasi and Hima rural municipalities of Jumla district, Mahawai and Tilagufa rural municipalities of Kalikot district and Adanchuli, Chunkheli and Kharpunath rural municipalities of Humla district are also yet to be connected with telephone service.

The panel also directed Nepal Telecom to expand 4G service across the country, which is currently being provided only in Kathmandu Valley and Pokhara.

The parliamentary committee also urged the government to look into the issue of interlink service among the various telecom service providers. The lawmakers also stated that the quality of service being provided by the telecom companies needed to be improved.