Himalayan Melodies


A programme was organised to felicitate mountaineers who released the album ‘Hiun…the snow’, at Mount Everest last month. The programme was organised at Nepal Tourism Board, Exhibition Road on June 26. Mountaineers Namgel Sherpa, Mingma Gyalze Sherpa, Mingma Temba Sherpa and Tarke Sherpa were felicitated on the occasion. The album was planned by lyricist and music composer Ram Krishna Tripathi (Samaveda) after trekking at the Himalayas and spending time with workers of the mountainous areas. He felt he has to do something for them.

Subash Niraula, Executive Head of Nepal Tourism Board was the Chair person of the event and Chief Guest for the event was Shankar Koirala, Acting Secretary of Ministry of Information and Communication. Rs 1 Lakh which was generated by the album so far was handed over to Da Gyalze Sherpa, President of High Altitude Mountain Workers Welfare Association.

The album consists of eight songs sung by Jagdish Samal, Swaroop Raj Acharya, Chandra Dong, Rajesh Payal Rai, Anju Pant, Ram Chandra Kafle and Adrian Pradhan. Six songs are in Nepali whereas two songs sung by Adrian Pradhan are in English. The album is a presentation of Nature and Soul and is promoted by Nepal Tourism Board, Trekking Agencies Association, Himalayan Rescue Association, Nepal Mountaineering Association and High Altitude Mountain Workers Welfare Association.