Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, January 4

Dabur Anmol Motion Picture Awards 2060 presented by Nepal 1 channel is all set to be held on December 10 at Birendra International Convention Centre, New Baneshwor.

The awards will be distributed in 26 different categories and five other honorary awards will also be there. The nominees were announced at a press conference held at Radisson Hotel, Lazimpat on January 4.

Sanjeev Mishra, regional manager of the channel said, “This is our effort to provide a boost to Nepali film industry and we will consider ourselves successful if this award ceremony brings up some pace in the industry.” He added, “I also believe that this award ceremony will give a new turn to the industry.”

Rajendra Khadgi has been nominated in the category — Achievement in Action Director — for four films ‘Mukti Data’, ‘Angarakshyak’, ‘Goreto’ and ‘Babu Shaheb’.

His counterpart N B Maharjan is vying for the award with the film ‘Santan Ko Maya’. Khadgi said, “I am happy to be nominated for four films but I think I need to try hard. Still there is a room for more efforts.”

A five-member jury — Prakash Thapa, senior film director; Pradeep Rimal, senior film director; Manju K Shrestha, senior cinematographer; Raman Ghimire, senior cine journalist and Bhuwan Chand, first Nepali film actress — will make the final decision.

Basundhara Bhusal, president of National Film Co-ordination Committee shared, “The continuation of this award in the future will certainly encourage the artistes to progress and perform well.”