10,000 ballot papers printed for NA election

Kathmandu, February 1

The Election commission has printed over 10,000 ballot papers for the National Assembly election slated for February 7.

There are 2,055 NA election voters — 1,505 chiefs and deputy chiefs of 753 local levels and 550 provincial assembly members. Chair of Makalu Rural Municipality of Sankhuwasabha district Khadka Katuwal died in a road accident.

EC Spokesperson Navaraj Dhakal said the poll panel had printed four types of ballot papers required for the NA election. Each voter will use four types of ballot papers. “We have completed printing of ballot papers required for NA election,” said Dhakal, adding that those ballot papers will be transported to the respective provinces by February 4.

According to Dhakal, the EC would not supply ballot papers to Province 2, as all eight NA members from the province were elected unopposed.

“We have not printed ballot papers for Province 2,” he added. He said the EC had also not printed ballot papers of some categories for other provinces, where NA members were already elected unopposed.

Of the 56 NA members to be elected from seven provinces, election will be held for 32 seats, as 24 candidates have already been elected unopposed. Twelve women members, nine members from open category, one Dalit and two from minorities or differently abled categories have been elected unopposed.

Out of 59 NA members, each province would elect eight members via secret voting, while the remaining members will be nominated by the president on the recommendation of the government.

Spokesperson Dhakal said the election body had also completed all necessary preparation for election in all provinces. The EC has set up office of chief returning officers in Morang, Dhanusa, Lalitpur, Kaski, Dang, Surkhet and Doti districts for the NA election.

The poll panel said that voting for the NA election will take place from 10:00am to 3:00pm on February 7.