39 SSPs transferred

Kathmandu, January 26

Nepal Police Headquarters has transferred 39 SSPs to various work stations, reshuffling their responsibilities as per the decision of the Ministry of Home Affairs.

Though the security body has a practice of transferring senior police officials every year, this reshuffle comes after a gap of over 18 months due to dispute between the ministry and Nepal Police over selection of work station for eligible candidates.

Deputy Prime Minister and Home Minister Bimalendra Nidhi and Inspector General of Police Upendra Kant Aryal had reached an understanding on the transfer list last night.

SSP Sarbendra Khanal, who earned public accolades for his successful operation against match fixing and organised crimes in Kathmandu Valley during his 18-month stint as in-charge of the Metropolitan Police Crime Division, has been transferred to the secretariat of IGP in Nepal Police Headquarters. He has been replaced by SSP Dinesh Amatya as MPCD chief. Ramesh Kharel has been transferred to the UN Reserve in the Nepal Police Headquarters from National Police Academy, Maharajgunj.

Similarly, Chhabi Lal Joshi has been made in-charge of the Metropolitan Police Range, Kathmandu. His predecessor Vikram Singh Thapa had retired as per 30-year service limit last month. Thule Rai has succeeded Pitambar Adhikari in the Metropolitan Police Range, Lalitpur. Adhikari has been transferred to the Zonal Police Office, Seti.

Likewise, Sher Bahadur Basnet was transferred to Central Investigation Bureau from Zonal Police Office, Lumbini. Bikash Shrestha, who was in the secretariat of IGP, will now work as deputy chief at Junior Police Office College, Bharatpur.