82 teams given climbing permits

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, January 1:

The Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation had given permission to 82 expedition teams from 19 different countries to scale thirty mountains from August to December last year.

Among others, they were given permission to scale the 6812-metre Ama Dablam Himal, the 7161-metre Pumori Himal, the 7129-metre Baruntse, the 7126-metre Himlung Himal, the 6012-metre Dhampus mountain, the 8163-metre Manaslu, the 7246-metre Putha Hiunchli, the 7134 m Tilicho peak, the 6779-metre Kangtega Himal, the 8091-metre Annapurna I and the 7710-metre Kumbhakarna peak. The Aichi Mountaineering Association Annapurna Expedition 2004, Austrian Gaugiri, two different teams of Mustang Expedition of Japanese Alpine Club 2004, Italian Manaslu Expedition, Czech Talung Expedition 2004, Saxony Himalaya Expedition Langtang Lirung 2004.

Team Trango Amadablam Expedition 2004 and the Slovenian Himalayan Expedition Dorje Lakpa were among the teams that were given permission to climb these peaks, the ministry has said.