CIAA seeks action against Social Science Baha, Alliance for Social Dialogue

KATHMANDU: The Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority (CIAA) charged on Sunday that there were massive irregularities in the Social Science Baha; and the Alliance for Social Dialogue, which is affiliated with the non-government organisation, was operating without registration at the government authorities.

Issuing a statement today, the CIAA said it has separately written to the authorities, including the Lalitpur District Administration Office and Social Welfare Council, to look into the matter.

In the past five years, the CIAA said making reference to its preliminary investigation, the Social Science Baha and the Alliance for Social Dialogue altogether spent Rs 292 million. The Social Science Baha received Rs 479.1 million support from as many as 22 donors since its foundation in 2002, the CIAA said, pointing out the need for an investigation into their past expenditures also.

Making public salary of the directors of Social Science Baha and Alliance for Social Dialogue, Deepak Thapa and Hari Sharma respectively, the CIAA said they were found out to be working as consultants in projects that their organisations launched and withdrawing salary separately.

Other members of the organisations including Sushil Raj Pyakurel, on the other hand, would collect a big amount of money as the board meeting allowance and bonus, the statement added.

Instead of spending funds properly, the CIAA charged that they were spent in unproductive ways as in salary and allowance, travel, hotels, picnics and liquor.

The CIAA further pointed finger at the Social Welfare Council for failing to properly monitor the Social Science Baha's activities and take proper action when the Alliance for Social Dialogue was operating without registration.

Nirmal Man Tuladhar is chairman, Basanta Thapa Vice Chairman, Sudhindra Sharma general secretary, Mohan Mainali treasurer, and Nirmal Gyawali and Kanak Dixit members of the Social Science Baha's executive committee, according to the CIAA.

Sushil Raj Pyakurel is chairman of the executive committee of Alliance for Social Dialogue, and Amuda Shrestha, Bimala Rai Paudel, Hira Lal Vishwakarma, Mukta Singh Lama, Shashi Adhikari and Surendra Labh Karna members, while Hari Sharma its director, according to the CIAA.