Committee to conduct NSU’s 11th general convention formed

Kathmandu, July 25

Nepali Congress has formed Nepal Students’ Union General Convention Central Directive Committee to support its student wing to conduct its 11th national general convention within the stipulated time.

An NC press statement issued here today said that committee was formed as per the NC statute under the coordination of central committee member Prakash Sharan Mahat, who is also a lawmaker, to support the existing NSU ad-hoc committee in holding the convention.

The committee has also been assigned to give directions to NSU cadres if necessary.

Other members in the committee include NC CC members Kishor Singh Rathore, Govinda Bhattarai, Gururaj Ghimire and Pradeep Paudel.

The committee was formed yesterday by NC chairperson Sher Bahadur Deuba.

As many as 11 NSU leaders, including Kundan Kafle, a prospective candidate for the student union’s president, have been staging relay hunger strike in front of the NC party office at Sanepa from yesterday demanding an end to disputes and timely convention in a democratic manner.

According to cadres of the relay hunger strike, the convention should not promote power-sharing between party factions.

U P Lamichhane, spokesperson of NSU, said he new committee will end the dispute regarding convention representatives in 11 districts such as Bhaktapur, Rautahat, Parsa, Solukhumbu, Siraha and others.

He said that it will address the demands of striking NSU cadres within a few days.

They have demanded that the NSU national convention be held from August 7. The NSU convention has not been held since 2007.

Earlier, the Nepali Congress’ first meeting on March 18 after Sher Bahadur Deuba took charge of the party had directed all its sister wings to hold their general conventions within six months.