Constituency Delimitation Commission formed

KATHMANDU: Nepal Government has formed Constituency Delimitation Commission headed by former Justice of the Supreme Court Kamal Narayan Das on Thursday.

The meeting of the Council of Ministers made the decision today itself, informed Finance Minister Gyanendra Bahadur Karki who is also the spokesperson of the government.

According to Karki, the Commission has been given the mandate of 21 days to recommend the number of constituencies in the country.

Madhav Adhikari, Bishwa Kalyan Parajuli and Ganesh Raj Karki are the members of the Commission while Yogendra Sharma Paudel has been named as the Commission Secretary.

The Commission was formed in relation to the provincial and House of Representative elections which should be held by January, 2018.

Earlier, the Election Commission had repeatedly urged the government not to delay in forming the Commission saying it was necessary as part of the election preparations.