Constitutional Council picks three for Election Commission

KATHMANDU: The meeting of the Constitutional Council today recommended three names for appointment as election commissioners.

Those recommended to the posts are Narendra Dahal, Ishwari Prasad Paudel and Sudhir Kumar Shah, said Deputy Speaker and CC member Ganga Prasad Yadav.

Currently, the Election Commission has two commissioners including the Chief Election Commissioner Ayodhi Prasad Yadav and Commissioner Ila Sharma. There should be five commissioners in the constitutional body as per the constitutional provision.

Present in the meeting were Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal, Chief Justice Sushila Karki, Speaker Onsari Gharti, Main Opposition Party Leader KP Sharma Oli, Deputy Speaker Yadav and Chief Secretary Som Lal Subedi.