Nepal | January 26, 2021

UML wins mayor, NC deputy mayor in Madhyapur Thimi

Rastriya Samachar Samiti
Share Now:

CPN-UML cadres and supporters celebrating the election of Madan Sundar Shrestha as mayor of Madhyapur Thimi Municipality, in Thimi, Bhaktapur, on Monday, May 22, 2017. Photo: RSS

Bhaktapur, May 22

CPN-UML candidate Madan Sundar Shrestha has been elected the mayor of Madhyapur Thimi Municipality in Bhaktapur.

As per final vote count results, Shrestha secured 13,960 votes against 10,846 votes obtained by his nearest rival Asta Kawe of the Nepali Congress to win the election.

Likewise, the NC has won the post of deputy mayor with party candidate Anjana Madhikarmi becoming victorious in the election. She garnered 10,678 votes against her nearest competitor Kedar Khadka of Nepal Workers and Peasants Party who got 7,762 votes.

NC candidate Ramkaji Chakradhar has been elected chairperson of Ward No 9 in Madhyapur Thimi Municipality by securing 650 votes. His nearest rival Raju Kaiti obtained 594 votes.

Likewise, NC candidate Meera Khadka has won the post of member under women’s quota from the ward with 692 votes and Suntali Bishwakarma of the CPN-UML has emerged victorious in the post of member from the Dalit quota. Other elected ward members are NC’s candidates Gokul Khadka (727 votes) and Chandra Prasad Dhaubanjar (827 votes).


A version of this article appears in print on May 23, 2017 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories:

More from The Himalayan Times:

Estonia to get first female PM as government deal clinched

TALLINN: Estonia’s two biggest political parties clinched a deal on Sunday to form a new government to be led by a female prime minister for the first time in the Baltic country’s history, replacing the previous Cabinet that collapsed into a corruption scandal earlier this month. The party co Read More...

Center-right incumbent wins Portugal's presidential election

LISBON: Portugal’s president was returned to office for a second term with a resounding victory Sunday in an election held amid a devastating COVID-19 surge that has made the European country the worst in the world for cases and deaths. Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa, who had been widely expected to w Read More...

White House begins talks with lawmakers on COVID-19 relief

WASHINGTON: Top aides to President Joe Biden on Sunday began talks with a group of moderate Senate Republicans and Democrats on a $1.9 trillion coronavirus relief package as Biden faces increasing headwinds in his effort to win bipartisan backing for the initial legislative effort of his presidency. Read More...

Need a lift? SpaceX launches record spacecraft in cosmic rideshare program

A veteran rocket from billionaire entrepreneur Elon Musk’s SpaceX aerospace company launched 143 spacecraft into space on Sunday, a new record for the most spaceships deployed on a single mission, according to the company. The Falcon 9 rocket lifted off at 10 a.m. EST from the Space Launch Comple Read More...

Dharan: A city built with people’s participation

DHARAN, JANUARY 24 Dharan, in the east of Nepal, is rich in cultural diversity. In addition to being regarded a modern city, it is also a place that developed with people’s participation. The settlement here began with deforestation in 1894. It was gradually expanded by the Rana prime minist Read More...

‘House of Representatives dissolved through inauthentic recommendation’

DHANGADI, JANUARY 24 Nepal Communist Party (NCP) Dahal-Nepal faction’s standing committee member Bhim Bahadur Rawal today said that Prime Minister KP Oli’s recommendation for dissolving the House of Representatives was not authentic. Speaking at a press meet organised in Dhangadi today Read More...

Four made public with stolen NT equipment

RAJBIRAJ, JANUARY 24 Police today made public four persons arrested for their alleged involvement in stealing electronic equipment and batteries from the Nepal Telecom tower in Saptari. Organising a press meet on the premises of Sapatri District Police Office, police made the arrested people p Read More...

Sample collection for filariasis begins

DHANKUTA, JANUARY 24 Sample collection for filariasis has started in Dhankuta. Dhankuta Public Health Office said it had administered medicine against filariasis eight times last year. Dhankuta DPHO had administered the medicine against filariasis for up to six times to all people living in Read More...