Nepal | June 04, 2020

CPN-UML leader Tumbahamphe elected Deputy Speaker of HoR

THT Online
Share Now:

Newly elected Deputy Speaker of the HoR Shiva Maya Tumbahamfe waving to supporters, at the Parliament building, in Kathmandu, on Friday, March 16, 2018. Photo: Balkrishna Thapa Chhetri/THT

KATHMANDU: CPN-UML leader Shiva Maya Tumbahamfe has been elected deputy speaker of the House of Representatives.

Tumbahamfe got 201 votes in the election held today in the HOR, which was sufficient to get elected. Her contender Nepali Congress leader Puspa Bhusal got only 61 votes. Speaker Krishna Bahadur Mahara announced the victory of Tumbahamfe.

Earlier, Speaker Mahara gave time to proposers and seconders of both candidates to address the House meeting briefly. He also gave time to proposers of both candidates to withdraw their proposals.

CPN-Maoist Centre leader Dev Gurung had proposed the nomination of Tumbahamfe while UML leader Rabindra Adhikari seconded it. Likewise, NC leader Dila Sangraula proposed Bhusal’s candidacy, while another NC leader Devendra Raj Kandel seconded it.

Tumbahamfe’s victory was certain, as she was a common candidate of the left alliance of the UML and the CPN-Maoist Centre. The two parties have majority in the HoR. Likewise, the Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal, Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal and some independent lawmakers, also cast votes for Tumbahamfe.

Meetings of the Federal Parliament (the House of Representatives and the National Assembly) on Friday passed the condolence motion in memory of 51 people killed in the US-Bangla plane crash.

Speaker Krishna Bahadur Mahara of the HOR and NA Chairman Ganesh Timilsina proposed the condolence motion in the meetings of their respective Houses, which was unanimously passed. Both Houses observed one minute silence in the meetings in memory of crash victims.

Fifty-one people were killed and twenty other passengers injured when A US-Bangla Airlines aircraft en-route to Kathmandu from Dhaka crashed at Tribhuvan International Airport on Monday. Of the 51 deceased, 22 were Nepali, 26 Bangladeshi and one Chinese passenger.

Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli addressing a meeting of the House of Representatives, at the Parliament building, in Kathmandu, on Friday, March 16, 2018. Photo: RSS

Earlier, Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli briefed the both Houses about the incident.

The PM expressed condolences and sympathy to the family and relatives of the deceased. The PM said that he had immediately contacted his Bangladeshi counterpart Sheikh Hasina and expressed condolence and sympathy. “I have also committed to her that the government will not compromise on the treatment of the victims,” said the PM. He informed that the government had formed a committee led by former secretary Yagya Prasad Gautam to probe the incident.

PM Oli also pledged to implement the suggestions of the probe panel to minimise such horrific incidents. Stating that the government was serious about the identification of the victims, DNA test and laboratory confirmation, the PM said that he told his Bangladeshi counterpart that the two countries could cooperate on those issues.


KATHMANDU: CPN-UML leader Shiva Maya Tumbahamphe has been elected to the post of Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, today.

Tumbahamphe was appointed to the post of Deputy Speaker by a margin of 143 votes after receiving a majority of 201 votes.

Contending against her was Pushpa Bhusal of Nepali Congress, who received a total of 58 votes.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories:

More from The Himalayan Times:


Brazil sets another record for daily coronavirus deaths

RIO DE JANEIRO: Brazil registered another record number of novel coronavirus deaths over the last 24 hours, the health ministry said on Tuesday evening, as the pandemic in Latin America's largest country shows no signs of slowing down. The nation registered 28,936 additional cases of the nove Read More...

High-level panel to decide on easing lockdown by tomorrow

KATHMANDU, JUNE 2 The High-Level Coordination Committee for the Prevention and Control of COVID-19 formed under Deputy Prime Minister and the Minister of Defence Ishwar Pokharel will decide in a day or two whether or not to ease the lockdown. Member Secretary of the committee Narayan Prasad Bi Read More...

FIFA adds voice to protests over Floyd's death

BERN: World soccer's governing body FIFA has joined sports leagues, teams and players around the globe to express solidarity amid outrage over the death of George Floyd, an unarmed black man killed in police custody in the United States. The National Football League, National Hockey League an Read More...

Nepal's ruling party stresses dialogue with India to resolve territorial dispute 

Kathmandu, June 2  Nepal Communist Party (NCP) lawmaker Narayan Kaji Shrestha urged India to sit for dialogue with Nepal to resolve Limpiyadhura, Lipulekh and Kalapani issues. He welcomed Indian Defence Minister Rajnath Singh's remark about resolving border disputes with Nepal through dia Read More...

Nepali Congress registers statute amendment bill 

Kathmandu, June 2 The main opposition Nepali Congress today registered a private constitution amendment bill at the Parliament Secretariat seeking to change the constitution's provisions related to citizenship, language, provincial boundaries and formation of a boundary commission. Eight Nepal Read More...

Dhangadi  quarantine

Quarantines in Sudurpaschim bursting at seams 

Dhangadhi, June 2  With the increasing number of returnees from India, the quarantine facilities in Sudupaschim Province are almost packed. The number of migrant workers returning home from India is increasing every day. According to Kailali District Administration Office, around 5,000 Read More...

Nine businessmen held for gambling, remanded to custody 

Kathmandu, June 2 Nine businessmen, some of whom are ‘well-known faces’ in the business fraternity, were sent to five-day police custody after being arrested from a gambling den last night. Deputy Superintendent of Police Raj Kumar KC, also the spokesperson for Metropolitan Police Range,  Read More...

PCR tests of all quarantined persons fraught with problems 

Kathmandu, June 2  The Ministry of Health and Population said that implementing the Supreme Court’s order to conduct tests for coronavirus on all quarantined persons across the country using polymerase chain reaction method was a daunting task. Earlier, the Supreme Court had issued an order Read More...