CPN-UML wins both Provincial Assembly seats in Kathmandu 5

KATHMANDU: The CPN-UML's candidates for Kathmandu constituencies 5 (A) and (B) both won a seat in the provincial Assembly elections.

CPN-UML's Narayan Bahadur Silwal won from Kathmandu 5 (A) with 7,790 votes while his nearest opponent Nepali Congress's Rama Poudel garnered 4,309 votes.

Similarly, Deepak Niraula, another candidate of CPN-UML in Kathmandu 5 (B) registered victory with 13,769 votes, according to the Election Officer Chakramadi Aryal.  His closest contender Ramesh Kumar Khadka received 9,524 votes.

The vote counting of the proportional election to the House of Representatives and Provincial Assembly would begin from tomorrow, said Election Officer Aryal.