KATHMANDU: After yearlong exercise, the CPN-Unified led by Navaraj Subedi merged with the Unified CPN-Maoist amidst a function here today in the presence of the only living founder of the Communist Party of Nepal, Nar Bahadur Karmacharya.
“It’s a hard blow to both the national and international regressive and counter-revolutionary forces who are hatching conspiracies against change, including federalism,” said Navaraj Subedi, former general secretary of CPN-Unified following the declaration of merger at Rastriya Sabha Griha.
He claimed that the people’s war was the greatest revolt of the modern times when people had been saying that communism should be decorated in the museum.
Narrating the declaration statement signed by Maoist chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ and general secretary of CPN-Unified Navaraj Subedi, Maoist general secretary Ram Bahadur Thapa ‘Badal’ said both the leaders were committed to draft the anti-feudalist and imperialist constitution based on people’s federal republic or else people have their right to revolt.
Addressing the function Prachanda said the left parties’ unification at a time when national and international reactionary forces were trying to abduct the achievements of people’s movement, would have symbolic, political and ideological meaning.
Saying that division in Nepal’s communist party had started after the third general convention, Prachanda said, shunning the division they are heading towards a single communist centre.
Prachanda said, “Following the successful movement in 1990, many political forces merged with the CPN-UML and we experienced the fading of ideology of a revolutionary party after the merger.” He urged his party leaders and revolutionary cadres not to lead the party towards the path of CPN-UML. According to Maoist spokesperson and member of the talks team Dinanath Sharma, two of the senior leaders of the CPN-Unified including Subedi and Leela Thapa Magar would become politburo members of the UCPN-M and other six leaders would be included in the central committee. The six leaders include Baburam Nepali, Tej Prasad Kandel, Bed Nidhi Adhikary, Krishna Sharma, Om Prakash Pun and Sabina Aryal.
Remaining members of the 27-member Central Committee of the CPN-Unified would be integrated in different State Committees, Fronts and Bureau of the party.
Maoist vice-chairman Mohan Baidhya ‘Kiran’ claimed that the unification was significant for three causes - to counter the Indian expansionism, regressive and opportunist forces and lead the peace process to logical end, draft new constitution so as to send the message of revolution to the world.
In-charge of Newa State Committee Hitman Shakya claimed that another group from the CPN-Masal would join the party soon as the Nepali revolution reaches to the decisive juncture.