Development committees told to submit property details


Minister of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Yogesh Kumar Bhattarai has instructed all the line development committees to submit their property details within two months effective from today.

In an interaction held here today with officials of the committees, Minister Bhattarai directed the committees set up to oversee shrines of religious and cultural significance to prepare a master plan on their own and submit it to the ministry.

Bhattarai said the ministry was planning to formulate a blanket act to integrate the committees in line with the ministry. He sought suggestions from them for the same.

He also instructed them to adhere to austerity measures and pressed for transparency in operation, conduct auditing compulsorily and clear the arrears.

The minister appealed to the committees to coordinate efforts with the province and local levels to further develop cultural and religious places.

He also said religious heritage sites should be developed as places for conducting research and studies on the historical situation of Nepal.

Among the participants in the interaction were representatives from Pashupati Area Development Board, Lumbini Development Board, Devghat Development Board, Chitwan; Pathivara Area Development Committee, Taplejung; and Bouddhanath Area Development Area, Kathmandu.

Representatives from the Bouddha Philosophy Promotion and Stupa Development Committee, Lalitpur; Greater Baraha Kshetra Development Committee, Sunsari; Manakamana Area Development Committee, Gorkha; Halesi Mahadevsthan Development Committee, Khotang; and Greater Janakpur Area Development Committee also held interaction with Minister Bhattarai and briefed him about the current situation of the development committees.