DIG Thakur Gyawali appointed Inspector General of Nepal Police

KATHMANDU: Deputy Inspector General (DIG) Thakur Prasad Gyawali has been appointed the new Inspector General of Nepal Police. A cabinet meeting held at the Prime Minister's residence made a decision to this effect today.

The chief of Province 1 police is replacing outgoing IGP Sarbendra Khanal who completes his 22-month long tenure based on 30-year service limit today. Three Additional Inspector Generals -- Pushkar Karki, Thule Rai and Dheeru Basnyat -- who joined the service along with Khanal will also retire today.

Likewise, 18 DIGs will also compulsorily retire from service. The outgoing DIGs joined service together with IGP Khanal and the retiring AIGs.

Thakur Gyawali will serve as the chief of Nepal Police for five months.