The Election Commission today decided that the decision of the rival factions of the Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal to expel rival leaders from the party was not consistent with the provisions of the Political Party Act they had invoked.

Spokesperson for EC Raj Kumar Shrestha said after rival faction leaders expelled each other from the party, they had urged the EC to update their record as per Article 51 of the Political Party Act, but the EC decided that Article 51 could not be invoked as their decisions were about expelling leaders from the party.

Recently, while JSP-N Co-chair Upendra Yadav had expelled another Co-chair Mahantha Thakur, Parliamentary Party Leader Rajendra Mahato, party leaders Laxman Lal Karna and Sarvendanath Shukla from the party for supporting the KP Sharma Oli government, Thakur had also expelled Yadav from the party.

A version of this article appears in the print on June 14, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.