EC directs political parties to obey election code of conduct

KATHMANDU: As the second phase of local level elections is around the corner, the Election Commission has directed political parties and poll candidates to strictly abide by the election code of conduct while carrying out election-related campaigns.

The concerned authorities have been asked not to distribute or use T-shirts, caps and bags imprinted with election symbols, said Surya Prasad Sharma, EC's spokesperson.

In a meeting held today under the chairmanship of Election Commissioner Sudhir Kumar Shah, the Commission has directed respective chief returning officers, election officers and chief district officers to monitor any violation of the election code of conduct and prevent such incidents.

Most of the political parties have already selected candidates and started their publicity campaigns for the second phase of civic polls.

A total of 9,097,557 voters will be casting their votes in the local polls slated for on June 28 in Biratnagar and Birgunj Metropolitan cities, 10 sub-metropolitan cities, 156 municipalities and 293 rural municipalities in province numbers 1, 2, 5 and 7.

461 mayors of metropolitan cities, sub-metropolitan cities, municipalities and chairpersons of rural municipalities and an equal number of deputy mayors and vice-chairpersons, 4086 Ward Chairpersons, equal number of women Ward Members and Dalit Women Members, and 8,172 ward members would be elected from provinces 1,2,5 and 7.