Election Commission scraps 11 political parties

KATHMANDU: The Election Commission has scrapped the registration of 11 political parties for failing to submit annual reports and income and expenditure statements to the Commission.

The registrations was rescinded as per the Political Parties' Act, 2002.

The parties scrapped are Nawa Nepal Nirman Party, Jana Unity Cooperative Party Nepal, Tarai Madhes Pahad Himal Ekata Party, Hariyali Nepal Party, Om Sena Party, Nawa Janabadi Party, CPN (Marxist), Nepal Prajatantrik Yuba Party, Nepal Janasangh Party, Nepal Dalit Shramik Morcha and CPN-Unified, according to EC spokesperson Surya Prasad Sharma.

Likewise, the EC has slapped 82 political parties with Rs 100 fine each for failing to submit annual financial reports on time.

The parties have been asked to furnish the reports within next 35 days.