Government to restructure archaeology department

Kathmandu, August 2:

The Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation (MoCTCA) is making preparations to split the Department of Archaeology into three independent departments: archaeology, archives and museums.

According to sources at the ministry, new departments will be instituted to give a boost to government’s efforts to maintain museums and archives. The move is being taken at a time when preparations are underway to shift the country’s biggest museum, the National Museum, to the Narayanhiti Palace. The ministry has held several meetings with DoA officials in this regard. A draft

proposal on the organisational and management survey of the DoA has been submitted to the ministry.

MoCTCA has formed a committee comprising representatives of the MoCTCA, Ministry of Finance, Ministry of General Administration and the DoA to institute new departments.

“The DoA has failed to contribute to the development of Nepal’s archaeology, culture, heritage and other related areas due to the lack of scope and human resources. Disintegration of the DoA can contribute to preservation of heritage sites,” said an officer. He added that the Department of Archives would be set up very soon.

“The establishment of the Department of Museums will take time because the MoCTCA is working to provide more responsibilities to museums in other districts. Besides, the Museum Act is yet to take shape,” he added. Director-general of the DoA Bishnu Raj Karki said the proposed disintegration of the Department of Archaeology would provide better working conditions for workers.