Govt appoints Sushil Gyawali CEO of Reconstruction Authority

KATHMANDU: The government on Friday appointed Sushil Gyawali as the CEO of Reconstruction Authority.

A cabinet meeting held at the Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers at Singha Darbar this evening the decision to this effect. Gyawali was the executive director at the Town Development Fund.

Also, the Cabinet appointed seven members in the National Planning Commission, and transferred some secretaries at different ministries.

The ones appointed in the National Planning Commission are Dr. Sumitra Amatya, Dr. Kamananda Dev, Dr. Chandrakanta Paudel, Dr. Sunilbabu Shrestha, Dr. Geetananda Joshi, Dr. Krtipasindhu Prasad, and Bijaya Bahadur Kunwar.

Moreover, the Cabinet decided to waive visa fee for Chinese nationals visiting Nepal. During a bilateral meeting with his Chinese counterpart Wang Yi in Beijing earlier today, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs Kamal Thapa had told the Chinese side Nepal would waive the visa fee for Chinese visitors.

After the endorsement from the Parliament, President Bidya Devi Bhandari had authenticated the Reconstruction Authority Bill on December 25.


Earlier, the erstwhile Sushil Koirala-led government had appointed Dr. Govinda Prasad Pokhrel the CEO of the Reconstruction Authority.