Gyanendra Shrestha elected employees’ chair in tourism ministry

KATHMANDU: Gyanendra Shrestha has been elected as chairman of the civil servants’ trade union under the Ministry of Culture Tourism and Civil Aviation.

Nepal Civil Servants’ Association which garnered a majority in the recent election unanimously endorsed Shrestha’s name to lead over 455 employees working under the ministry as well as its departments and offices across the nation.

According to election commission, Shrestha received his certificate yesterday committing to work for the well-being of ministry employees during his four-year-long tenure.

Shrestha, who has been serving as non-gazetted first class officer (Nayab Subba) at the mountaineering section of the Department of Tourism, said that he would try to perform his best to motivate all employees for a speedy service delivery. “This is an opportunity to work for well-being of the employees as they serve the nation fairly and fearlessly.”

NCSA secured 276 votes during the elections for the official trade union held on June 1. As per the Civil Service Regulations, the union becoming the first in the polls shall get the post of chairman, treasurer and joint secretary while second and third winners shall be given other office bearer posts of the executive committee.

“Bishnu Pathak, and Ram Bhusal have also been elected as treasurer and joint secretary respectively while the NCSA named Basanti Basnet, Anusha Koirala, Bal Mukunda Shrestha and Jaya Narayan Karki as members of the executive committee of the official trade union under MoCTA.”