House forms Impeachment Recommendation Committee

KATHMANDU: The Parliament on Wednesday formed an 11-member Impeachment Recommendation Committee to decide whether and which of various impeachment proposals to be filed at the Parliament Secretariat be discussed at the full House.

Article 101.3 of the Constitution has a provision that, “There shall be an impeachment recommendation committee in the House of Representatives for the purpose of making recommendation after inquiring into whether there exist the ground and reason for moving a motion of impeachment against any person.”

The Committee now will decide which impeachment proposals filed against chiefs and members of constitutional bodies at the Parliament be forwarded for deliberations.

Speaker Onsari Gharti Magar had put forth a proposal to form such a Committee, which the lawmakers had endorsed unanimously during the House meeting today.

Gyanendra Bahadur Karki, Deepak Kuinkel, Farmullah Mansur and Laxmi Rai from Nepali Congress; Keshav Prasad Badal, Sushila Nepal, Parvat Gurung and Revati Raman Bhandari of CPN-UML; Aman Lal Modi and Ram Narayan Bidari from the CPN Maoist Centre; and Dilnath Giri of Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal are members of the Committee.

Earlier, the Business Advisory Committee of the Parliament had recommended the names.

Speaking at the House meeting on Tuesday, lawmakers of various parties had urged the Speaker to form the Committee at a time where people from various walks of the life had been demanding that the Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority Chief Lok Man Singh Karki be impeached.