KATHMANDU: Lawmakers of various parties, speaking at the House meeting today, congratulated the newly formed government and extended their best wishes for a commendable performance.

The Parliament had met for the first time on Monday after electing CPN Maoist Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal on Wednesday.

Speaking at the meeting, Mahesh Acharya of Nepali Congress, Bhanubhakta Dhakal of CPN-UML, Agni Prasad Sapkota of CPN MC, Kamal Thapa of Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal, Shivaji Yadav of Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal, Parshuram Tamang of Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Laxman Lal Karna of Sadbhawana Party, Aindra Sundar Nembang of CPN-ML and Chitra Bahadur KC of Rastriya Janamorcha among other leaders wished that the new government would perform well in order to solve various problems facing the nation.

Lawmakers of the former ruling coalition including Dhakal, Thapa, Nembang and KC claimed the KP Sharma Oli-led government had done a good job during its tenure.

Thapa even claimed that some foreign forces might have been playing in Nepali politics to meet their vested interests.

KC meanwhile urged biggest three parties to come together to implement the Constitution.