Litterateurs to be feted

Himalayan News Service

Kathamandu, March 12:

The Royal Nepal Academy (RNA) has selected personalities to be awarded for their contributions in the literary field.

The general meeting of the RNA on March 10 selected the names of writers and critics conferred with the Prithvi Pragya Puraskar (PPP) — 2060, Tribhuvan Pragya Puraskar (TPP) — 2060, Mahendra Pragya Puraskar (MPP) — 2060, Indra Rajya Laxmi Puraskar (IRLP) - 2059 and 2060 in the presence of the Prime Minister Surya Bahadur Thapa and Mohan Koirala, chancellor and vice-chancellor of the RNA.

Writer Govinda Bahadur Gothele will be decorated with the PP - 2060 for his six-decades of contribution in the field of modern drama and fiction. The award is given once in five years.

TPP - 2060, which is awarded once in three-years, will be awarded to senior literatteur Krishna Chandra Singh Pradhan for his five-decade-long, research and criticism in the field of essay.

MPP -2060 will be given to Dr Ram Niwas Pandeya for his four-decade-long research in the field of history and primeval culture in literature.

Sashi Kala Tiwari, who has won national and international fame in the field of contemporary paintings, has been awarded the 2059 award. Meanwhile, the IRLP — 2060 — will be given to Ram Sharan Darnal for his analytical research in the field of Nepali musical instruments and their conservation.