Kathmandu, November 19 Three medical students today filed a writ petition against the Medical Education Commission, Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, Kathmandu University School of Medical Sciences, Institute of Medicine, Maharajgunj Campus, Birat Medical College and Nepalese Army Institute of Health Sciences, seeking stay order of the scholarship results published by the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology. The petition demanded that the provision of 75 per cent scholarship, as stipulated by the law be made mandatory in all state funded medical colleges. The petitioners have also demanded the notice for scholarship to be re-announced, as 75 per cent scholarship was announced in only three state funded medical colleges — Institute of Medicine Maharajgunj Campus, Patan Academy of Health Sciences and BP Koirala Institute of Health Sciences, Dharan. Earlier the Medical Education Commission had decided to provide 75 per cent scholarship quota for MBBS and other bachelor’s level health students from this academic year. The scholarship is available for MBBS, BDS, nursing, Ayurvedic medicine and radiology, among various other bachelor level health programmes. However, National Medical Education Act has stipulated that 75 per cent scholarship seats be allocated in state-funded medical colleges. The act also stipulates that private medical colleges need to reserve 10 per cent scholarship quota for students. “The act has clearly stated that 75 per cent scholarship should be given by the state funded medical colleges. Therefore, it is injustice to give the privilege only to the students at three state funded medical colleges,” said Md Nasir, one of the petitioners.