NSP-N leaders form broader polarisation coordination panel

Kathmandu, August 18

The Naya Shakti Party-Nepal leaders today formed a broader polarisation coordination committee.

Issuing a press release today, NSP-N leader Devendra Poudel said a 17-member broader polarisation coordination committee was formed under his leadership. The committee would formulate a new political working plan, manifesto, and organise national gathering in near future. He also sought broader polarisation among progressive forces.

“Our first appeal is to Baburam Bhattarai. We want Bhattarai to lead the new broader progressive alliance,” Poudel told THT. He said the NSP-N’s current working plan was unclear and created confusion among party workers and the general public.

When asked whether the party was formally split, Poudel said, “We have not yet split the party formally. However, Bhattarai’s reaction will determine our next move.” According to Poudel, he and other leaders of his team want polarisation among all progressive forces, including the CPN-Maoist Centre, Mohan Baidhya-led CPN-Revolutionary Maoist, Netra Bikram Chand-led Nepal Communist Party and Upendra Yadav-led Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal, among others.

Bam Dev Chhetri, Kumar Poudel, Mahendra Paswan, Mukti Pradhan, Pashang Sherpa, Sushila Sipali,  Balawati Sharma, Tilak Thapa, Amar Dhoj Lama, Wahid Ansari, Hari Chaulagain, Sharmila Tamang, Ratna Rana, Rabindra Sunuwar, Lalit Thagunna and Kul Bahadue Moktan are other NSP-N leaders are in the  panel.