NCP lawmakers file writ against House dissolution


Four former lawmakers of Nepal Communist Party (NCP) today filed a writ petition at the Supreme Court challenging the dissolution of the House of Representatives by the president on the recommendation of Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli.

Petitioners Dev Gurung, Krishna Bhakta Pokharel, Ram Kumari Jhankri, and Shashi Shrestha filed the petition against Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli, Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers, Office of the President and Speaker Agni Prasad Sapkota.

The petitioners have argued that there is no provision for dissolution of the HoR by a majority government and Article 76 contains provision for dissolution of the HoR only in the beginning when not even a minority government can be formed. They have argued that unlike in the 1990 constitution, the new constitution does not contain any provision that can give prerogative to the PM to dissolve the HoR.

They have urged the court to nullify the president’s order that dissolves the HoR and also sought an interim order asking the court to allow the HoR to conduct its business. The first hearing of the case has been scheduled for tomorrow.

Eleven petitioners had filed separate writ petitions yesterday challenging dissolution of the lower House. All these writ petitions are also scheduled for hearing tomorrow.