Nepal, Saint Kitts and Nevis forge diplomatic ties

Kathmandu, May 31

Nepal and Saint Kitts and Nevis have established formal diplomatic relations, taking the number of countries with which Nepal has established diplomatic relations to 159.

Ambassador Durga Prasad Bhattarai, permanent representative of Nepal to the United Nations, and Ambassador Sam Terence Condor, permanent representative of Saint Kitts and Nevis to the United Nations, signed an instrument to this effect at a brief ceremony in New York yesterday.

On the occasion, the two ambassadors underscored the importance of continuing cooperation at multilateral levels as well as opening avenues for bilateral cooperation in areas of common interest, such as climate change and natural disasters as well as tourism cooperation. They also resolved to continue working together at the United Nations in pursuit of peace, development and common prosperity ahead, according to a statement issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The two ambassadors also jointly informed UN Secretary General António Guterres about the establishment of Nepal-Saint Kitts and Nevis bilateral relations.

Saint Kitts and Nevis, officially the Federation of Saint Christopher and Nevis, is an island country in the West Indies. It is a twin-island federation whose economy is characterised by its dominant tourism, agriculture and light manufacturing industries. Per capita income of Saint Kitts and Nevis is around $17000.

Saint Kitts and Nevis joined the United Nations on September 23, 1983, following its independence from the United Kingdom on September 19, 1983. It is a member of the Commonwealth, with Queen Elizabeth II as head of state. Before independence, Saint Kitts was home to the first British and French colonies in the Caribbean, and thus known as ‘The Mother Colony of the West Indies’, read the MoFA statement. Both Nepal and Saint Kitts and Nevis are members of the Non-Aligned Movement and the Group of 77. Saint Kitts and Nevis is a member of the Caribbean Community.

St Kitts and Nevis has a unicameral legislature, known as the National Assembly. It is composed of fourteen members: eleven elected Representatives (three from the island of Nevis) and three Senators who are appointed by the Governor-General.