NC lawmakers skip municipal assembly

Kathmandu, July 14

Most of the lawmakers of the ruling Nepali Congress from Kathmandu did not attend the first municipal assembly of Kathmandu Metropolitan City today.

According to a participant of the assembly, Dhyan Govinda Ranjit was the only NC lawmaker from Kathmandu to attend the assembly.

When CPN-UML Chair KP Sharma Oli was inaugurating the KMC municipal assembly, NC parliamentarian from Kathmandu constituency-1 Prakashman Singh was participating in Nagarjun Municipality’s municipal assembly. Nagarjun’s mayor was elected from NC.

Similarly, constituency-8 parliamentarian Nabindra Raj Joshi also did not attend the KMC municipal assembly.

In addition to Singh and Joshi, NC parliamentarians Narahari Acharya, Bhimsen Das Pradhan and Gagan Thapa also did not attend the KMC municipal assembly.

Thapa is said to be out of the country, while Pradhan was attending municipal assembly of Tarakeshwor Municipality as the chief guest.

The source claimed NC lawmakers boycotted the municipal assembly due to their dissatisfaction over budget-related matters.