Nepali Congress yet to elect new committees in 10 districts

KATHMANDU: While it has already been two months since the Nepali Congress held its 13th national general convention, the party is yet to elect 10 new district committees.

The committees should have been elected from district conventions before the national convention. But, the party is yet to fix dates for the district conventions.

The districts yet to hold conventions are Sindhupalchok, Siraha, Dhanusha, Dolpa, Bajhang, Kanchanpur, Saptari, Mahottari, Rasuwa and Humla.

Likewise, the party is yet to hold convention in Dhanusha Constituency-5, according to party Office Secretary Pradeep Parajuli.

All other 239 constituencies have held their conventions already, according to Parajuli.

Internal factionalism, geographic difficulties and delayed lower committee conventions resulted into failure to hold district conventions before the national conventions, according to the party.

The newly elected Central Working Committee of the party has also not made any decision regarding holding conventions in these districts.

Meanwhile, party's Chief Secretary Rishikesh Tiwari said the responsibility of holding the conventions was on the Election Committee.

"The party can cooperate only after the Election Committee decides for the same," he said.