Nepali students awarded gold medals at SAU

Kathmandu, June 15

A total of 67 Nepali students were conferred their master’s degree during the maiden convocation of South Asian University.

SAU is an international university established by the eight member states Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka of South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation.

Fifteen of the Nepali graduates were from the faculty of economics, 17 from biotechnology, 12 each from computer science and international relations, eight from Sociology, two from LLM and one from applied mathematics.

According to University Grants Commission, Nepal, the convocation, which was presided over by Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Kamal Thapa, was held on June 11 at Vigyan Bhavan, New Delhi. Prof Dr Parasar Prasad Koirala, chairperson of UGC, Nepal was also present in the convocation as a chairperson of SAU Governing Board.

Dibya Ghimire (batch 2011-2013) received gold medal in biotechnology. Sloke Gyawali (2012-2014) and Dhurbaraj Adhikari (2012-2014) received gold medals in international relations, said a press statement issued here today by UGC.

Approximately about 450 students received their degrees during the convocation, while 31 of them received SAU Gold Medals for excellence in academic performance. The SAU had started teaching and learning activities from academic year 2010 but it had not been able to hold its convocation till date.

Students from all eight SAARC countries were present at the convocation.

Many members of the University Governing Board, Executive Council, Academic Council and Finance Committee had attended the convocation along with academicians and other dignitaries.

The university now offers post-graduate and doctoral programmes in various disciplines, including development economics, computer science, biotechnology, mathematics, sociology, international relations and law.

It will ultimately have 11 post-graduate faculties and a faculty of undergraduate studies. SAU attracts students from all member nations and its degrees are recognised by all SAARC countries.