NCE-Nepal elects new executive committee

KATHMANDU: The National Campaign for Education-Nepal on Saturday elected its new executive committee for next two years.

The committee was elected at the seventh general convention of the NCE-Nepal held in the Capital.

The 17-member committee would be chaired by Kumar Bhattarai with Sharada Devi Kumal and Subhendra Man Shrestha as Vice-Chairpersons.

Dilliram Subedi, Keshav Pathak and Santwana Devkota have been elected General Secretary, Secretary and Treasurer respectively.

Meanwhile, speaking at the programme, Minister for Education Dhaniram Paudel lauded the contributions of the NCE-Nepal in strengthening the Nepali educational sector.

Other participants of the programme also underlined the need of change in policies for further development of the sector.

The programme coincided with the 37th National Education Day and the 50th International Literacy Day.

Issues related to education for girl child, marginalised and Dalit communities along with child security and participation were discussed in the event.